Trade and economic cooperation

           Uzbek-Japanese and Japanese-Uzbek economic cooperation committees, which formed in 1994, play significant role in the development of trade and economic relations. The 13th joint meeting of these committees was held on April 12, 2016 in Tashkent.

            In August 2008 was signed the Intergovernmental Agreement “On liberalization, mutual protection and encouragement of investments”, which entered into force on September 24, 2009.

10 joint ventures, including one - with a 100% Japanese capital were set in Uzbekistan. 12 representatives of Japanese companies are accredited in Uzbekistan.

            Volume of trade between Uzbekistan and Japan has been growing dynamically. Bilateral trade in 2015 amounted to $255,6 million.

            The total volume of financial and technical assistance of Japan to Uzbekistan amounted more than $4.1 billion. A number of socially significant and infrastructural projects in such areas as health, education, energy, transportation, and telecommunications were implemented due to the financial and technical assistance of Japan to Uzbekistan.

            Since 1999 regional offices of the Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA) and the Japan External Trade Organization (JETRO), and also Uzbekistan-Japan Center have operated in Uzbekistan.

Торгово-экономическое сотрудничество

            Большую роль в развитии торгово-экономических отношений играют Узбекско-японский и Японо-узбекский комитеты по экономическому сотрудничеству, образованные в 1994г. 13-е совместное заседание указанных комитетов состоялось 12 апреля 2016г. в г.Ташкент.

            В августе 2008г. подписано межправительственное Соглашение «О либерализации, взаимной защите и поощрении инвестиций», которое вступило в силу 24 сентября 2009г.

В Узбекистане создано 10 СП, в т.ч. одно - со 100% японским капиталом, а также аккредитовано 12 представительств японских компаний.

            Динамично растет объем взаимного товарооборота между Узбекистаном и Японией. По итогам 2015г. двусторонний товарооборот составил 255,6 млн.долларов США.

            Общий объем финансово-технического содействия Японии Узбекистану составил более 4,1 млрд. долларов США. Благодаря финансово-техническому содействию Японии в Узбекистане реализован целый ряд социально-значимых и инфраструктурных проектов в сферах здравоохранения, образования, энергетики, транспорта, телекоммуникаций и других направлениях.

            С 1999г. в Узбекистане осуществляют деятельность региональные офисы Японского Агентства по международному сотрудничеству (ДЖАЙКА) и Японской организации внешней торговли (ДЖЕТРО), а также Узбекско-японский центр.